Former Houston Council Member Joins Harris Health System’s Board of Managers

Former Houston City Council Member and attorney Anne U. Clutterbuck has been appointed to the Board of Managers for Harris Health System, the community-owned healthcare system serving residents of Harris County, Texas, with a focus on primary care, wellness and prevention offered through a network of 44 inpatient and outpatient facilities.

She was nominated by Harris County Judge Ed Emmett and unanimously approved by Harris County Commissioners Court in December. She assumes the position previously held by Dr. Atul Varadhachary.

"This time of unprecedented change in healthcare presents unique opportunities to improve healthcare delivery in Texas,” Clutterbuck says. “I look forward to working with my fellow board members, physicians and providers, and the patients of Harris Health System as we navigate the challenges ahead."

Clutterbuck, a graduate of Baylor University and the University of Houston Law Center, recently served three terms (2006-2011) on the Houston City Council. While on the council, she served as chair of the Budget and Fiscal Affairs Committee, Houston Mayor Pro Tem and Director of the Houston Galveston Area Council.

Prior to elected office, she worked for former U.S. Rep. Bill Archer and was an associate with the law firm of Morris, Tinsley & Snowden. She is a frequent contributor to the program “Red, White and Blue” on KUHT-TV.

In 2012, she was named “Political Pioneer” by the League of Women Voters, Houston chapter. Her community involvement includes current and past positions on the Holocaust Museum Houston, Upper Kirby District Foundation, Theatre Under the Stars and Southampton Civic Club. 

Her term on the Harris Health System Board of Managers runs through Nov. 1, 2014. The board is a nine-member group appointed by Harris County Commissioners Court. Each serves a two-year term and is reappointed at the court’s discretion.

Clutterbuck joins other current members: Stephen H. DonCarlos, Lawrence D. Finder, Elvin Franklin Jr., Dr. George D. Santos, Daisy A. Stiner, Rene “TJ” Tijerina Jr., Carolyn G. Truesdell and E. Dale Wortham.