Harris Health System Wins Houston-IFMA Leading Edge Element Award

Harris Health System received the Leading Edge Element award given from the Houston chapter of the International Facility Management Association (IFMA) during its first Houston Facilities of Excellence Awards.

The awards are presented to organizations whose facility management program, project, system innovation or idea had a substantial positive effect on the success of their organization.

“The MRI equipment and the high-end technology at Smith Clinic make it incredibly deserving of recognition,” says Renee McNiel, president of IFMA Houston Chapter.

Smith Clinic is Harris Health System’s first outpatient specialty facility offering diagnostic and specialty services like oncology, neurology and dermatology. The five-story, nearly 168,000-square-foot facility has more than 100 exam rooms.

Among its technology are:
• Three linear accelerators
• Three CT scanners
• Two MRI units
• PET scan unit

“Receiving recognition for our facilities is a wonderful way to let the public know the great work that Harris Health System does in the community,” says Mark Sams, manager, Construction Operations, Harris Health System.

According to the IFMA Houston Chapter, award recipients will demonstrate how their project impacted business objectives and contributed to improved success. Winners demonstrated innovation, and their achievements will be used to educate other facility management professionals.

McNiel says the awards are intended to honor those who achieve above and beyond the normal scope of job responsibilities. Entries should fall within at least one of the following categories:  communication skills, leadership and management, finance, benchmarking, human and environmental factors, maintenance and operations, planning and project management, quality assessment and innovation, strategic sourcing or technology.

IFMA comprises more than 22,000 members worldwide in various industries including healthcare, oil and gas and banking. The Houston chapter has 460 member organizations and this year attracted 23 award entries.