Harris Health System Hospitals Again Earn Nursing’s Pathway to Excellence®

Harris Health System announces the nursing redesignation of its three hospitals — Ben Taub, Lyndon B. Johnson and Quentin Mease — as Pathway to Excellence® facilities awarded by the American Nurses Credentialing Center.

Pathway to Excellence® is a prestigious designation that identifies hospitals that offer robust work environments for nurses and confirms the professional satisfaction of nurses at Harris Health System as one of the best places to work.

“Pathway to Excellence® is earned by healthcare organizations that create work environments in which nurses can flourish and is a testament to professional satisfaction among nurses,” says Elizabeth Cloyd, executive vice president and chief nursing executive, Harris Health System. “Harris Health fosters a positive and nurturing environment for nurses, so they in turn can provide high quality care for our patients. This achievement recognizes our organizational commitment to nursing.”
Pathway to Excellence® is awarded after an organization successfully undergoes a rigorous review that documents foundational steps taken to create a positive work environment as defined by nurses and supported by research. These initiatives must be present in the facility’s practices, policies and culture. Nurses in the organization verify a supportive work environment through a confidential online survey.

“Our patients and our staff benefit from receiving a Pathway to Excellence® designation, because it exemplifies our organizational goals of improving employee retention, employee satisfaction, physician satisfaction and patient outcomes, as well as enhancing evidence-based practices,” Cloyd says.

Harris Health System is committed to nurses, to what nurses identify as important to their practice and to valuing nurses’ contributions in the workplace. This designation confirms that nurses working at Harris Health know their efforts are supported.

Pathway to Excellence® designation is currently awarded to 103 facilities nationwide.