Skip to main content
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
Breadcrumb Links
Skip Navigation LinksHarris Health Services Centers of Excellence

Centers of Excellence

National accreditations and third-party certifications of excellence attest to Harris Health System's commitment to quality healthcare and the sophistication of our medical and surgical services. Examples include:

Ben Taub and LBJ Hospitals are designated as Level I and Level III Trauma Centers, respectively, by the Texas Department of State Health Services for meeting or exceeding American College of Surgeons’ essential criteria for Level I and Level III trauma care.

• Harris Health System’s Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital has received its nursing re-designation as a Pathway to Excellence® hospital awarded by the American Nurses Credentialing Center.

• For the third year in a row, Harris Health System’s Ben Taub Hospital has received the Mission: Lifeline® Gold Plus Receiving Center award from the American Heart Association for its care of severe heart attack patients.

• Ben Taub Hospital’s stroke center received three state and national certifications and accreditations from the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association, DNV Healthcare and the Southeast Texas Regional Advisory Council.

In addition to such prestigious outside recognition, Harris Health System takes pride in its self-designated Centers of Excellence which include Cancer Care, Cardiology, Community Medicine, Geriatric Medicine, HIV/AIDS Care, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Stroke Care, Trauma Care and Women & Infants Services. Each center of excellence offers comprehensive care and is staffed by a team of skilled physicians, nurses and other healthcare practitioners who have all undergone specialty training in their medical and/or surgical area of expertise, and continue to do so on an ongoing basis.