Skip to main content
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
Breadcrumb Links
Skip Navigation LinksHarris Health About Us News Ben Taub Hospital Nears Three Decades of Level 1 Trauma Center Designation

Ben Taub Hospital Nears Three Decades of Level 1 Trauma Center Designation

HOUSTON (Jan. 24, 2022) — The American College of Surgeons recently re-verified the Level 1 trauma center status of Harris Health System’s Ben Taub Hospital, marking its 28-year designation as an elite hospital capable of caring for the most severely injured in the community.

The designation of a Level 1 trauma center is overseen by the Texas Department of State Health Services and verified by the American College of Surgeons. Every three years, the college conducts an extensive review of patient charts, interviews key staff and inspects emergency, radiology, operating rooms, post-anesthesia care units and intensive care units.
Ben Taub Hospital was first designated a Level 1 trauma center in 1994. 

“Our community deserves the highest level of trauma and emergency care possible and the re-verification by the American College of Surgeons demonstrates that Harris Health System and our dedicated team at Ben Taub Hospital are committed to this great effort,” says Dr. Glorimar Medina, senior vice president and administrator, Ben Taub Hospital. “We want the community to know we are here when they need us the most.”

To receive a trauma designation, hospitals must meet or exceed strict guidelines for patient care of the two main types of physical trauma (blunt force and penetrating injuries) and trauma expertise set by the nationally recognized college of surgeons. 

“Trauma care is a truly a team endeavor and one we don’t take lightly at Ben Taub Hospital,” says Dr. Chad Wilson, medical director, Trauma Services, Ben Taub Hospital, and associate professor, Baylor College of Medicine. “We hold ourselves to the highest standards of care and dedicate ourselves to always offer our patients the best care possible.”

In 2021, Ben Taub Hospital provided medical care to nearly 73,000 patient visits, of which 8.9% or 6,477 were classified as trauma patients. Falls and penetrating injuries (mostly associated with violent crimes) were the most common reasons for trauma visits to the hospital.

Harris Health has a long history of trauma care expertise established in the 1940s through the pioneer work of renowned surgeon Dr. Michael E. DeBakey at Jefferson Davis Hospital, at one time part of Harris Health. Aside from Ben Taub Hospital, Harris Health also operates Lyndon B. Johnson, a Level 3 trauma center. Both Ben Taub and LBJ hospitals are part of the extensive trauma response system in Harris County and southeast Texas.