Skip to main content
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
Breadcrumb Links
Skip Navigation LinksHarris Health About Us News State Re-Designates Harris Health LBJ Hospital as a Maternal Level III Facility

State Re-Designates Harris Health LBJ Hospital as a Maternal Level III Facility

HOUSTON (July 25, 2022) — Harris Health Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital has received its re-designation as a Maternal Level III facility by the Texas Department of State Health Services, a recognition that places the Harris Health System hospital among 44 similarly designated facilities for their high quality of care and service for new mothers and newborns.

The hospital already is a Level III Neonatal Care designated facility, meaning its staff are experts in taking care of the tiniest patients. LBJ Hospital provides care for pregnant and postpartum patients from low-risk conditions to significant complex medical, surgical and/or obstetrical conditions through access to a full-range of medical and maternal subspecialists, surgical specialists and behavioral health specialists.

The state's designation requires that the hospital maintain a critical care training program with a medical school partner (McGovern Medical School at the University of Texas Health Science Center Houston) at all times with maternal fetal medicine physicians and/or obstetrics and gynecology physicians with obstetrics training and privileges in maternal care.

“Our commitment to high-quality care to our expecting mothers and newborns by our physicians, nurses and the entire healthcare team played a major role in LBJ Hospital achieving this tremendous recognition," says Patricia Darnauer, executive vice president and administrator, LBJ Hospital. “Recognitions like this demonstrate our dedication to our patients and community and our pledge to provide excellent healthcare to patients in need."

To improve maternal and infant care outcomes, the Texas legislature adopted new accreditation standards. In 2018, all hospitals across the state had to demonstrate expertise and the capacity to care for the sickest babies. Hospitals that failed to achieve a designation from the state risked being barred from the Medicaid program. 

“Our staff pushed itself to raise performance standards thanks to the support of our executive leadership team," says Maria D'Souza, RNC-NIC, MSN, MHA, NEA-BC, administrative director, Nursing, LBJ Hospital.  

Additionally, the three-year designation means the hospital has expert medical and nursing staff offering life-sustaining support to all infants, support of major pediatric surgery and a mechanism for working collaboratively with other lower- or higher-level-designated facilities.  

“Your hospital is commended for its commitment to quality care and the commitment to achieve and maintain a level III (subspecialty care) designation," says Timothy Stevenson, associate commissioner, Consumer Protection Division, Texas Department of State Health Services. “Congratulations to you and your staff for the vital role the hospitals provides to your community." 

LBJ Hospital joins Harris Health Ben Taub Hospital in achieving a Texas maternal designation for its overall women, infant and children's departments.