Skip to main content
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
Breadcrumb Links

Region 3

 Anchor Role

To facilitate the implementation of the 1115 Waiver in Texas, HHSC established twenty Regional Healthcare Partnerships (RHPs) led by Anchoring entities.  RHP3 consists of nine counties: Austin, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Harris, Matagorda, Waller, and Wharton.  Harris Health System, the Anchor for Region 3, coordinates the creation of RHP Plans by partnering with Intergovernmental Transfer (IGT) entities, private hospitals, non-hospital providers, community organizations and leaders, academic organizations, and other stakeholders.  RHP Plans seek to demonstrate the 1115 Waiver's benefit to the Region 3 community and the state.

The Region's specific objectives and improvement targets are based on stakeholder input, community needs assessments, and DSRIP protocols.  The Region's overarching goals include:

  • Develop a regional approach to healthcare delivery that leverages and improves on existing programs and infrastructure, is responsive to patient needs throughout the entire region and improves health care outcomes and patient satisfaction.
  • Increase access to primary and specialty care services, with a focus on underserved populations, to ensure patients receive the most appropriate care for their condition regardless of where they live or their ability to pay.
  • Transform healthcare delivery from a disease-focused model of episodic care to a patient-centered, coordinated delivery model that improves patient satisfaction and health outcomes, reduces unnecessary or duplicative services and builds on the accomplishments of our existing healthcare system.
  • Develop a culture of ongoing transformation and innovation that maximizes the use of technology and best-practices, facilitates regional collaboration and sharing, and engages patients, providers, and other stakeholders in the planning, implementation and evaluation processes.

 Map of Region 3